The DAVIES BAKERY tradition began in 1880. Today we are 5th generation bakers, with over 130 years of experience.
In 1880 JOHN DAVIES began by delivering bread by day and learning to bake at night from German baker, Mr Louis Trobler, at Talbot near Ballarat during the gold rush era. In 1885, when Mr Trobler retired, JOHN DAVIES was able to buy the bakery. Gold around Talbot declined and in 1894 John sold the business and moved to Ballarat, where he purchased a bakery in Eureka St. The bakery grew and was run by successive generations until sold to an international flour milling and baking company in 1962.
The current DAVIES generation, after working for the same company, decided to acquire their own business by purchasing a bakery in Brunswick St Fitzroy in 1994. This expanded to a factory in Thomastown in 1997 and again expanded to a larger factory in Broadmeadows in 2007.